E.H. Taylor, Jr. Barrel Proof

By way of background, I am a huge Buffalo Trace Antique Collection fan.  In my humble opinion, there is no finer group of Bourbons and Ryes on the planet.  I tend to like the barrel proof versions but I really love them all.  The craftsmanship of these elixers is unmatched in the spirit world.   Unfortunately, they no longer sit on the shelves for months.  They are near impossible to get (thank you hipsters!)  I was lucky enough to stumble across 5 bottles of the EH taylor Barrel proof and jumped on them.  Boy am I glad.  I had read that this is very close to the George T. Stagg (not the Jr).  I tend to agree.  This was perfect.  It had such a refined and smooth character.  You barely could tell it was north of 129 proof.  It did not club you over the head like some higher proof offerings and it was not too heavy, which is my biggest complaint for the Stag, Jr.

This Bourbon offered rich carmel with vanilla undertones. There are hints of orange liqueur. Nose of strong licorice   This stuff is so good.  A+

1 thought on “E.H. Taylor, Jr. Barrel Proof

  1. Hi. I like your latest blog post. I’m a big fan of whiskey in general. So much so we’ve started sourcing and aging coffee beans in whiskey barrels. Any chance you would be up for reviewing our coffee for your blog readers? I can send out some free samples to you. Awesome site by the way.

    Let me know. Thanks.
    John

    Like

Leave a comment